The Dewitt Creativity Group is a united effort on behalf of the creatively-minded students at DHS to ensure continued innovation and expression in all forms.

Jeff Croley Selected for MTLAC

The following is an official press release from the Michigan Department of Education regarding the Teacher Leadership Advisory Council. The DeWitt Creativity Group appluads the selection of DeWitt High School teacher and DCG co-founder Jeff Croley to this body. Jeff belives in not only reforming the Michigan K-12 education syem but in TRANSFORMING it as well. He will be a great advocate for the views of teachers, parents and students alike in creating a more dynamic approach to learning:


24 Teachers Selected For New

Teacher Leadership Advisory Council

Will Inform State’s ESSA, Top 10 in 10 Plans


July 21, 2017


LANSING – Twenty-four teachers have been selected from a pool of more than 300 applicants to serve on a new panel to help guide the state’s plan to implement the federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) announced today.


The two dozen teachers, from K-12 public schools across the state, will serve on the newly-created Michigan Teacher Leadership Advisory Council (MTLAC), developed with a $10,000 grant from the national Council of Chief State School Officers.


“Their collective talents and experience will be an asset to the council as we collaborate on the state’s plan to implement Michigan’s ESSA plan and work to become a Top 10 educations state within 10 years,” State Superintendent Brian Whiston said. “Based on the leadership these educators have demonstrated in our schools and communities, we know that Michigan’s students are in great hands.”


ESSA is the new federal law that replaced the previous No Child Left Behind Act. Every state is to develop a plan that it will use to improve educational outcomes for children and hold schools accountable and transparent for that success.


The MTLAC members and their school districts are:

Teacher council


The new MTLAC members were selected from a pool of more than 310 applicants from 10 Prosperity Regions across the state, following an application process open to all Michigan teachers. A competitive preference was given to those with experience or interest in teacher leadership positions.


The members will attend the panel’s only mandatory, in-person meeting, Aug. 9 in Bath. Otherwise, they mostly will participate in online meetings, where they can provide feedback on the state’s ESSA and Top 10 in 10 plans.


Council activities will be held outside of school hours. Members receive a $500 honorarium for the 2017-18 school year.


Members also will serve as ambassadors of the #proudMIeducator campaign (www.michigan.gov/proudmieducator).


The U.S. Department of Education (USED) currently is reviewing Michigan’s ESSA plan, submitted to USED on April 17.


To read Michigan’s ESSA Plan, and an Overview of the plan, go to www.michigan.gov/ESSA.



# # #



Michigan Department of Education Logo Questions?
Contact Us

This email was sent to deiter@dewittschools.net using GovDelivery Communications Cloud on behalf of: Michigan Department of Education · 608 W. Allegan Street, P.O. Box 30008 · Lansing, MI 48909
Attachments area